What Are the Laws on Cannabis in Louisiana?
Louisiana makes medical marijuana available for patients diagnosed with any condition that could benefit from cannabis.
Registered medical marijuana patients enjoy a lot of freedom with cannabis, and with a medical marijuana card, you won’t be arrested or fined for possessing medical cannabis.
Medical marijuana patients also enjoy the freedom to purchase cannabis products like flower, concentrates, and vape cartridges from approved pharmacies.
Being a medical marijuana patient doesn’t give you total freedom, however, there are still some laws and rules to follow as a medical marijuana patient, and a cannabis certification doesn’t give you unlimited access.
Louisiana has some tight laws on cannabis, and although they’re relaxed for medical marijuana patients, it’s important to know what you can and can’t do as a patient.
In this article, we’ll cover how Louisiana’s cannabis laws work, what patients need to look out for, and learn how to make sure you’re following the law with cannabis as a medical marijuana patient!
Laws on Cannabis for Non-Medical Marijuana Patients
The Law is Strict for People Without a Medical Marijuana Card in Louisiana
Louisiana doesn’t have recreational cannabis, so the only way to make sure you’re following the law with cannabis in your possession is by being a medical marijuana patient.
Getting a medical marijuana card in Louisiana is simple and easy, and you can even get your medical marijuana card online.
Without a medical marijuana card, the penalties for being in possession of cannabis are pretty steep:
· First Offense 14g & Under - $100 fine, no jail time
· First Offense Over 14g but less than 2.5lbs - $500 fine, 6 months incarceration
· Over 2.5lbs but less than 50lbs – $30,000 fine, felony, mandatory 2 – 10 years
First & second offenses may be eligible for probation
Distribution or cultivation charges are felonies and carry mandatory minimums starting at 4 years
Any conviction that involves controlled substances will incur an immediate revocation of driving privileges for 30 days minimum up to 1 year
First offenses may entertain a one-time 2-year cleansing period
Driving under the influence of cannabis will incur separate charges, and charges may stack to increase fines, jail time, and or probation periods.
Any charge involving cultivation or distribution is an immediate felony and carries mandatory minimums and hefty fines, and there are no distinctions between cannabis products for Louisiana – all cannabis products carry the same fines and or jail time.
A Medical Marijuana Card Gives You Additional Privileges
Without a medical marijuana card, possessing any type of cannabis can lead to fines, jail time, or both.
A medical marijuana certification allows you to legally possess cannabis without fear of those fines or jail time, and a medical marijuana card is the only way to make sure you’re within the boundaries of the law when carrying cannabis.
Even medical marijuana patients are subject to cannabis laws, though, and there are things you can and can’t do as a medical marijuana patient.
Although you can legally possess your allotted amount of cannabis each month, you won’t be able to buy cannabis off the street, cultivate your own cannabis, or sell your cannabis to anyone. For medical marijuana patients, a certification gives access to a legal supply of cannabis that can be used as an alternative medicine.
What Are the Laws for Medical Marijuana Patients?
Medical Marijuana Patients Can Buy & Possess Cannabis Legally
The biggest (and most obvious) benefit for medical marijuana cardholders is the ability to legally purchase and possess cannabis.
As a medical marijuana patient, you’re free to shop at any of Louisiana’s 9 approved pharmacies and purchase up to a “30-day supply” (2.5 ounces / 14 days) of cannabis products. There are no laws in Louisiana that prevent medical marijuana patients from making their own edibles, too, so if you’re looking to bake up a batch of medicated brownies, you’re free to do so!
You can travel within the State with your cannabis, and you are legally permitted to use your cannabis in the privacy of your own home.
Recently, legislation has been introduced to make sure that written laws account for medical marijuana patients carrying cannabis paraphernalia, too, to ensure that patients operating within the boundaries of their medical treatment are protected from prosecution.
What Can’t Medical Marijuana Patients Do? What’s Against the Law?
Medical marijuana patients do have certain limitations they have to follow with cannabis.
For starters, cultivating, selling, or giving your cannabis to someone who does not have a medical marijuana card are all off limits for medical marijuana patients. If you’re under the age of 21, you’ll need a certification that specifically recommends “raw or crude form of cannabis”, otherwise you’ll be limited to products other than cannabis flower.
Medical marijuana patients only enjoy legal protections for purchasing and possessing legal cannabis from approved pharmacies, you won’t enjoy any of the same protections for cannabis acquired from other sources.
You can’t use cannabis in public places or in places where smoking is prohibited and using cannabis while driving (or as a passenger) is also off-limits.
Other than that, you’re free to use cannabis as an alternative medicine in any way that makes sense for your medical marijuana treatment plan, there aren’t any restrictions on how much cannabis you can use and there are no laws concerning the strength or potency of cannabis products in Louisiana.
A medical marijuana card offers a lot of freedom in Louisiana, and a cannabis certification keeps you legal and safe!
Get Your Louisiana Medical Marijuana Certification
Louisiana offers an expansive medical marijuana program that allows patients with any condition that could benefit from cannabis use to receive a medical marijuana certification. You can get your medical marijuana card online today by consulting with one of our qualified doctors who will help you every step of the way!
Getting a medical marijuana card in Louisiana is easier than ever, beat the lines and get your medical marijuana certification in Louisiana today, and you can even get certified for medical marijuana online for ease of use and convenience.
For questions about Louisiana’s medical marijuana program, or how to become a medical marijuana patient in Louisiana, consult with one of our trusted doctors and book an online medical marijuana appointment today!
Doctors Who Care.
Relief You Can Trust.
At Louisiana Marijuana Card, our mission is helping everyone achieve wellness safely and conveniently through increased access to medical marijuana. Our focus on education, inclusion, and acceptance will reduce the stigma for our patients by providing equal access to timely information and compassionate care.
Call us at (833) 253-2943, or simply book a medical marijuana evaluation to start getting relief you can trust today!
Check out Louisiana Marijuana Card’s Blog to keep up to date on the latest medical marijuana news, tips, and information. Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram to join the medical marijuana conversation in Louisiana!