- Bailey Porras
Legal Consequences for Marijuana Possession in Louisiana
Back in 2015, the state of Louisiana legalized marijuana for medical use, and the first dispensary opened in 2019.
Although medical marijuana is legal in Louisiana, there are still many restrictions regarding the types of marijuana patients can buy, as well as possession and distribution repercussions.
We did our research so you don’t have to! Here is a list of all current laws and consequences regarding possession and distribution of marijuana in Louisiana.
Many possession charges carry both a fine and a penalty. Here is a list of all possession penalties for marijuana according to NORML:
14 g or less- Misdemeanor, No possibility of jail time, $ 100 fine
More than 14 g – less than 2.5 lbs (first offense)- Misdemeanor, 6 months in jail, $ 500 fine
2.5 - less than 60 lbs- Felony, 2* - 10 years in jail, $ 30,000 fine
60 - less than 2000 lbs- Felony, 5* - 30 years in jail, $ 100,000 fine
2000 - less than 10,000 lbs- Felony, 10* - 40 years in jail, $ 400,000 fine
10,000 lbs or more- Felony, 25* - 40 years in jail, $ 1,000,000 fine
First and second offenders may be eligible for probation.
*Mandatory minimum sentence
Distribution and Cultivation
As far as distribution is concerned, it is extremely unlawful and is taken very seriously. These penalties carry a minimum charge of a felony, with much higher mandatory minimum sentences and fines to be aware of.
All of these penalties also cover possession with the intent to distribute marijuana, as the state of Louisiana decided it will be the same punishment for the intent and the completed action. These penalties also go for the cultivation of marijuana in the state of Louisiana. Here are the current laws regarding marijuana distribution in the Louisiana, including their fines and penalties, according to NORML:
Any amount (first offense)- Felony, 5* - 30 years in jail, $ 50,000 fine
Any amount (subsequent offense)- Felony, 10* - 60 years in jail, $ 100,000 fine
To a minor (first offense)- Felony, 5* - 45 years in jail, $ 100,000 fine
To a minor (subsequent offense)- Felony, 10* - 90 years in jail, $ 200,000 fine
Includes possession with intent to distribute
* Mandatory minimum sentence
It’s important to be aware of current laws and regulations regarding marijuana in your home state in order to avoid fines and penalties.
Lucky for you, there is no time like the present to do it the legal way.
If you’re ready to enjoy the natural relief that cannabis provides, you’ll need your Louisiana medical marijuana card. If you don’t have your card yet, we can help you with that.
Reserve an evaluation online today, and we’ll make an appointment for you with one of our knowledgeable, compassionate doctors to see if you qualify for your medical card. Not only will you discuss your condition and options during a virtual appointment in the safety of your own home, but if you reserve an appointment online today, you’ll also save $25 off the cost of the appointment!
Doctors Who Care.
Relief You Can Trust.
At Louisiana Marijuana Card, our mission is helping everyone achieve wellness safely and conveniently through increased access to medical marijuana. Our focus on education, inclusion, and acceptance will reduce the stigma for our patients by providing equal access to timely information and compassionate care.
Call us at (833) 253-2943, or simply book a medical marijuana evaluation to start getting relief you can trust today!